powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-07-14 - 5:09 a.m.

Se tu m'ami, se sospiri
Sol per me, gentil pastor,
Ho dolor de' tuoi martiri,
Ho diletto del tuo amor,
Ma se pensi che soletto
Io ti debba riamar,
Pastorello, sei soggetto
Facilmente a t'ingannar.

Bella rosa porporina
Oggi Silvia sceglier�,
Con la scusa della spina
Doman poi la sprezzer�.
Ma degli uomini il consiglio
Io per me non seguir�.
Non perch� mi piace il giglio
Gli altri fiori sprezzer�.

____________________________________________________________

If you love me, if you sigh
only for me, dear shepherd,
I am sorrowful for your sufferings;
yet I delight in your love.
But if you think that
I must in return love only you,
Little shepherd, you are subject
To deceiving yourself easily.

The beautiful purple rose
Will Silvia choose today;
With the excuse of its thorns,
Tomorrow, then, she will despise it.
But the advice of men
I will not follow -
Just because the lily pleases me,
I do not have to despise the other flowers.

Giovanni Pergolesi/Antonio Vivaldi

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!